JO has No Confident on Musthapha, JVP also Join !


The joint opposition led by former president Mahinda Rajapaksha has handed over a no-confidence motion against Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Faiszer Musthapha to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. This motion have been signed by twelve joint opposition parliamentarians, reports said.

Meanwhile the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna also announced they would hand over a no-confidence motion to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya against Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Faizer Mustapha. When asked if they supported the joint opposition’s no-coincidence motion, he said they would have to first take a look at the contents of their no-faith motion.

JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake told the media at the parliamentary complex that the stay-order on the delimitation gazette had proved that the minister had not carried out his duties properly.

He said the delimitation committee was appointed by the minister under the powers vested in him and added that if the committee had acted beyond its powers, it was not ethical for the minister to gazette a report prepared by it. He has done purposely to delay the elections

JVP leader said they could not accept the fact that the minister was unaware about the legalities because he was a President’s Counsel.